Star Wars: Battlefront – DLC Expectations

The Star Wars: Battlefront DLC is just around the corner. For those who are actually planning on buying it, it looks like there will be quite a bit in store! With new weapons, locations, playable heroes/villains, and equipment, perhaps the game's longevity will get an upgrade.

Image title

Oh boy…..DLC. This expensive trend has become quite the obligatory expectation for games now. Star Wars: Battlefront was a bit of a let-down for most fans, I suppose. DICE delivered on the visual aspects of the Star Wars universe, but the game fell rather short when it comes to versatile gameplay and content. It is now 2016, and the players who have already purchased the season pass will be getting some more content soon. In this article, I'll run through what kind of content players will be getting, and what I think it will consist of. If you want the specifics on the DLC, click here for the website! 

The Content Amount

Okay, concerning the amount of DLC, the Star Wars: Battlefront website states that there will be 4 expansion packs in all, each being released a few weeks apart (or months). Within these for expansion packs, there will be a set amount of certain items included. In total, there will be 20 new pieces of weapons/vehicles/star cards, 4 more heroes/villains, 16 maps, and 4 new game modes. Considering that there will be 4 expansion packs in all, we can assume that these add-ons will be split up evenly. There will be, approximately, 5 new weapons/vehicles/star cards, 4 maps, 1 measly game mode, and 2 heroes/villains in each pack. On the website it stated that there will be 4 heroes "and villains", so I'm assuming that means 4 of each, which means there will most likely be 1 hero and 1 villain per pack. Whether or not these heroes/villains will be on foot or fighter squadron heroes is still up in the air. 

What The Content Might Be

I am not too concerned about weapons/star cards when it comes down to it. There are plenty of unused blaster models from the movies that have yet to make an appearance in the game, as well as gear. As for vehicles, I can clearly predict there being a Y-wing or an Imperial bomber as the next set of playable vehicles, or maybe Darth Vader's TIE fighter and Luke in his X-wing. That would be pretty cool if they appeared as the next set of vehicles heroes/villains. Concerning maps, I am pretty excited. Being a game focused primarily with the original trilogy, there will most likely be maps located on Bespin, the Death Star, and Yavin 4. What I am concerned with the most is probably the new playable heroes. I can picture Chewbacca showing up as the first hero, and for the new playable villain, maybe a bounty hunter like IG-88 or Bossk. With the villains having more force users, it would make sense to balance it out a bit and give the bad guys another blaster user. Since there will be zero prequel-era DLC, the chances of anything from heroes to weapons to vehicles showing up is slim, if not already impossible. I am curious as whether or not there will be any Force Awakens DLC. Players have already gotten the chance to play on the two Jakku maps for free, it just wouldn't make sense unless the developers were planning on adding more DLC from the new movie. Weapons, gear, and heroes/villains from the new movie would be absolutely epic. For villains we could have Kylo Ren and Captain Phasma, and for the heroes, Rey and Finn, or maybe Poe as a vehicles hero with his black and orange X-wing. There has already been an endless flow of speculation regarding the DLC thus far, and since it's now 2016, fans won't have to wait much longer. Perhaps the best thing to do now is simply wait and see what happens…      


  1. Avatar photo

    You should check your sources. They already said the game is going to focus on the original trilogy, and the DLC will contain four new CHARACTERS, not four heroes and four villains.

    • Avatar photo

      Yeah…..that’s my bad. I just misunderstood, I guess. After all, it didn’t say 2 heroes and 2 villains. I thought that “4 more heroes and villains for you to fight as or against” meant that their would be 4 of each. I’ll make sure to do more research next time around.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>