Sony’s Play at Home Initiative Returns With Ratchet and Clank

Sony's Play at Home initiative is giving away plenty of free goodies to make staying indoors during a global pandemic more bearable, starting with Ratchet and Clank (PS4) in March. Sony will also be offering a trial subscription to Funimation. Plenty more deals will be announced in weeks to come.

Sony's Play at Home Initiative Returns With Ratchet and Clank.Since 2020, much of the world has been stuck indoors due to lockdowns in response to a global pandemic. While this might have been a delight for many introverts, others have had a tougher time transitioning. During this time, millions have turned to gaming as a new hobby to socialize, stay occupied indoors and beat cabin fever. Consequently, the gaming industry has seen historic sales since the global pandemic. Last year, Sony launched the Play at Home initiative which aims to keep gamers home by offering free games. To the surprise of many, Sony offered Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection and Journey as free downloads. Fortunately, the Play at Home initiative is back, and its kicking off with a free download of Ratchet and Clank (PS4).

The announcement has been made via the PlayStation Blog, where Sony states that Ratchet and Clank will be available for free down from “March 1 at 8pm PST / March 2 at 4am GMT / 5am CET to March 31, 2021 at 8pm PDT* / April 1 at 4am BST / 5am CEST”. As was the case last year, the game will be yours to keep forever.

Ratchet and Clank will be the first free game offered by the Play at Home initiative.

Ratchet and Clank will be the first free game offered by the Play at Home initiative.

Through the Play at Home initiative, Sony will be offering a “series of free games” until June. This line-up, as PlayStation CEO Jim Ryan reveals in an interview with GQ, will include “some cool stuff with indie games”. This will surely keep gamers entertained for many months to come.

The free offers are not limited to video games, however. The Play at Home initiative, in addition to offering Ratchet and Clank in March, will also be giving away free 3-month trials for Funimation or Wakanim (Funimation’s European division). Funimation is a subscription service which offers a large catalog of anime. This deal begins on the 25th of March and is open to new subscribers.

Sony assures gamers that more details on the Play at Home initiative will be revealed soon. If you are looking at another year of working from home, PlayStation’s Play at Home initiative might make things a little less boring.

Rate the game!

0 0
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x