Sony Officially Acquires Bluepoint Games

Sony made an announcement today via their official PlayStation Twitter account that they would be acquiring the video game studio known as Bluepoint Games. Bluepoint is known for its remakes of several flagship PlayStation titles including Shadow of the Colossus and Demon's Souls.

Sony acquires Bluepoint Games the studio responsible for Demon's souls and Shadow of the Colossus remakes cover

An announcement came today via the official PlayStation Twitter account to provide some big news. Hermen Hulst, the head of PlayStation news announced that Sony has acquired the video game developer known as Bluepoint Games.

The latest addition to the PlayStation family, Bluepoint Games, is a video game company that is based in Austin, Texas, and was founded back in 2006. The company was started by Andy O’Neill and Marco Thrush, and currently has a staff of roughly 90 employees.

This acquisition should come as no surprise as it seemed inevitable that Sony would want to continue working exclusively with a gaming studio that has created such revered titles for them in the past. Bluepoint Games is known for its remakes and remasters of various PlayStation flagship titles such as Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection, Shadow of the Colossus, and most recently, Demon’s Souls, which was a launch title for the PS5 back in November 2020.

The unfortunate news is that during this update Marco Thrush, one of the heads of Bluepoint Games, reported that his company did not currently have any upcoming games to announce. Instead, he took the time to thank all of the fans over the years for their passion and support. Fans of Sony and their many exclusive titles can only hope that Bluepoint will release another brilliant remake/remaster or original IP in the very near future. 

Demon's Souls - Gameplay Trailer | PS5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>