Everything You Should Know About Assassin’s Creed Valhalla’s Wrath of the Druids DLC

Ubisoft has just released the Wrath of the Druids DLC for Assassin's Creed Valhalla. There will be around 18 hours of new content. Eivor will get to explore Ireland, fight new enemies, and create trading ports and alliances. You will need to purchase the Season Pass to unlock this. Here's everything you should know about the new DLC.

Everything You Should Know About Assassin's Creed Valhalla's Wrath of the Druids DLC cover

After six months from a successful launch, Assassin’s Creed Valhalla‘s new DLC, Wrath of the Druids, is shaping up to be promising. Released today, it is the first expansion in Valhalla‘s future repertoire of add-on content. Here we will take a deep dive into everything you should know about this new plethora of content. Keep in mind; you need to buy the Season Pass to unlock the DLC.

The history

One thing Ubisoft excels at is telling real-life stories from history. This is no different when it comes to Eivor’s journey to Ireland. If you want to read a much more detailed explanation, check out Ubisoft’s website, where they go in-depth to the complicated history of 9th century Ireland.

Look at the stunning landscapes of Ireland.

Look at the stunning landscapes of Ireland.

It is said that Ireland back in the day was made up of small kingdoms. There was no shortage of war here. One real fact that we’ll get to see in Wrath of the Druids is the one of Flann Sinna. Flann, at one point in history, ascends to the throne, his 36-year reign scoring heavy bloodshed.

Another figure you’ll meet is Bárid, Eivor’s cousin and King of Dublin. Even at that time, Dublin was controlled by the Vikings. Bárid also has a son named Sichfrith, when in history they were actually brothers. Eivor seems to have a lot of ties to a lot of famous people.

The land of Ireland

Ireland is much more than just a place to use photo mode in. Wrath of the Druids will give you two-thirds of the country to explore to your heart’s content. Not only that, but the DLC contains 18 hours of fighting and exploration. According to this article on Gadgets 360, this will give us 13 hours of mainline quests and 5 hours of side activities.

If you want to get to your destination in the first place, here are the steps you’ll need to take. First off, complete the first story arc once you reach England. This is close to the beginning of Valhalla‘s 90-hour long storyline. Once you complete your first alliance, you’ll be visited by a one-eyed trader named Azar in your community of Ravensthorpe. Talk to him, and he’ll take you to Ireland. 

Trading ports and activities

There’s much to do in Assassin’s Creed Valhalla, let alone the new country. Your job as Eivor is to help the newly crowned King Flann Sinna to help bring the land together under one rule. You’ll accomplish this in a number of different ways, including trading ports and contracts.

Nobody messes with Eivor and their bow.

Nobody messes with Eivor and their bow.

First off, you need money. And to get that money, Eivor must set up trading ports with overseas nations. This will let you earn valuable rewards and begin new alliances. This new gameplay loop will let you discover these enemy forts, clear them out and as Eurogamer explains, “hunt for its deed to officialize your trade”. Once that’s finished, you’ll be able to recruit workers and foster new resource-building posts.

Soon you’ll have a whole trading empire which will also allow you to receive armour sets from previous Assassin’s Creed games. There’s another optional system where you’ll be able to take on contracts of sorts. These repeatable quests are optional, so if you’re not into grinding for resources, no need to worry.

Quests and storylines

Before you jump into anything, be prepared for the power level. You’ll probably want to be power level 55, as that’s what most areas around Ireland are set to. Not only does Eivor have to unite the kingdoms of Ireland, but you are tasked with retrieving the Book of Kells from the Children of Danu.

This mysterious group is a deathly cult with the ability to summon werewolves and creepy antler-wearing creatures. These are explained through the cult’s use of hallucinogenic fog, which makes you think they’re real. The werewolves are described as Púca, which are mythical Irish spirits who take any animal form. 

New skills, items and mounts

There’s an array of content that comes with Wrath of the Druids that will help Eivor clear out the area’s enemies. You’ll be granted 3 new skills to unlock: Eye of the North, Cold Rage and Intense Rage. These skills help Eivor become less fazed during battle and eliminates her ability to flinch. 

There are new weapons to check out as well. The first main melee weapon introduced are sickles. Eivor is also given smoke-bomb arrows to confuse the enemy. Or perhaps you’d rather summon your collection of Irish puppies to attack enemies. Well, they’re more like hounds. 

I just want to ride all the cool animals!

I just want to ride all the cool animals!

But wait, there’s more! You’ll receive a beautiful lynx mount, a new raven and a variety of horses. Flex Eivor’s style with new hair and tattoos, as well as six new armour sets. Don’t get too distracted by these cosmetics; there’s still much work to do in Ireland.

That’s all you need to know about the Assassin’s Creed Valhalla Wrath of the Druids DLC. Are you excited to jump in and play this? Let us know!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>